Seriously? Sciatica?: A venting session

Somehow this happened last year. Around Halloween I dropped off the face of the planet on my blog. And while that hasn’t quite happened this time, I’ve reached a weird point. Maybe it’s because there’s so much going on during the holidays that the thought of it makes me shrink into a burrito of blanket reclusiveness. More likely, it’s because I’ve developed sciatica.

Being a mom makes me easily more subjected to be a punching bag. I’m scratched, chewed on, scraped, punched, slapped and all in the name of fun. As I’ve chronicled my son’s teething adventure, those two pesky bottom teeth are finally here. But not without injury.

I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining. Little Love is the absolute best at handling his business. For a 7 month old, he’s extremely level headed. But part of his efforts to soothe himself during a teething crisis, is to cling to me at every waking minute. I love the extra cuddles, but my back does not. Thus, I developed sciatica.

This morning I had the lovely experience of getting an MRI done. I’ve been to the doctor twice in the last week and have had to cancel some plans. But who’s complaining? The purpose of this post is not to go on and on about it. It’s to say, to all the moms out there who totally feel like their body is never going to be theirs again, I FEEL YOU.

RECENT: DIY: Mini Halloween Wreath for Under $10!

Between being pregnant and now breastfeeding, I’m happy to lend my body to my own spawn, but this back business, is putting me out of business, ya know? File this under another thing I wish I knew about parenthood.

I see you, moms who can carry 3 kids like it’s nothing, with one on their back and one in each arm.

My little rant and venting session is over. I have another DIY planned soon and hopefully some more product reviews. Thanks for sticking this out with me.

Wanna vent? Comment below or on my Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter.

Happy days and see y’all soon!

2 thoughts on “Seriously? Sciatica?: A venting session

  1. Pam Wilson says:

    I feel your pain, niece. Literally. Mine has been since last Halloween. I’m on 2nd round of PT for this year, and have had enough x-rays, shots & pills to last me. + one MRI. About to get a 2nd. Sciatica is not fun!!!!!!
    But with your young ligaments, cartilages, and discs, you should be out of this soon!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment