The Joys of Postpartum Hair Loss

I’ve always loved hair. Specifically, I love the story hair tells. You might think I mean completely polished, shiny works of art—but no. I mean a college student running late to class with a messy topknot; or maybe a young boy who took a pair of scissors to his curly hair as an experiment. Short, long, curly, straight, messy, kept, whatever the case may be, I think hair plays a huge story. The eyes may be the windows to the soul but hair is the bow on top. Even if that bow looks more like a tassel.

My hair, however, has been the bane of my existence. I always ask too much of it. I ask it to grow and then shorten. I ask it to stay its natural color and then no, let’s make it blonde. Every special occasion, it gets curled, whether it likes it or not. And lately, I just want it to stay on my head.

Postpartum hair loss is no fun. My hair experienced major fallout when I changed my diet. It finally started getting on the right track and then bam I got pregnant. Pregnancy was great to my hair. It was luscious and shiny. I was under no illusion that it would last, but I was hopeful.

Fast forward to 3 months PP. I was in the shower washing my hair and a huge clump came out. I don’t mean like 5 strands. I mean like, enough to patch a tire with. And every shampoo since then, more and more hair is falling out.

tumblr_mtyt4ukrmn1qgzzfno3_500

What is this hair story trying to tell me? Well, it’s telling me I just had a baby and I knew this would happen so suck it up. At now 5 months PP, I’m asking, yet again, for my hair to change. I don’t care if it doesn’t grow to long beautiful lengths. I just want it to stop falling out. I’m getting some serious bald spots and am starting to look like a peculiar disco ball.

RELATED: Growing out SEVERELY damaged hair/ My hair journey

On top of all of this, I started experiencing dandruff in the middle of my pregnancy and it has only gotten worse. At this point I know I should see a dermatologist but I’m trying a few methods first.

For starters, I’ve switched to all sulfate-free shampoo. I’ve always been a fan because the right kind will make my hair light and shiny. Also, not gonna lie, when Little Love was born I was horrible about washing my hair. So now I try to wash it every 3rd day.

I’ve tried so many dandruff shampoos, I decided to try some scalp-loving shampoos and go from there.

Also, I’ve always used a boar-bristle brush to brush my hair before washes, but now I carefully focus on the scalp and brush a little bit more to get all the dead skin off. Gross, I know, but it makes it easier to get out. I then follow by applying a light amount of coconut oil on my scalp through my ends.

IMG_1093

Look for a review of each product coming soon!

I don’t know if this will solve my fallout problem but it seems to be helping my dandruff problem.

RELATED: An (okay?) Attempt at A Side Braid Tutorial

What have you tried for PP hair loss? If you deal with dandruff, have you found anything (besides Head and Shoulders or T-Gel) that works for you? Let me know in the comments below or on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

Happy days and see y’all soon!

One thought on “The Joys of Postpartum Hair Loss

Leave a comment